Made in Heaven

Have you ever read a book or seen a movie that haunts your memory even years afterward?

I have. 15 or 20 years ago, I saw a film on TV that somehow stuck with me. Although I couldn’t remember much about this film, it has somehow burrowed into my memory and refused to let go. Periodically, I would remember a scene from it—not clearly, just in a vague sort of way; just enough to make me wonder where the memory came from and why. I could go for years without thinking of this film, and then—pow! That niggling piece of memory would creep in and set me wondering again.

Finally, now some 20 years later, I decided to track down this film and find out why my memory has been clinging to it for so long. Why it has been teasing me with vague recollections of it for so long. So, with my husband’s help, we located a Q&A site online and I typed in as much as I could remember about the film. It wasn’t much—I had no idea who the actors were, when it was made or shown, or what the title was. All I had was a very vague idea of what the plot was. So, I typed that in and asked if anyone recognized it and, if so, to let me know what the name of the film was or who the actors were.

It didn’t take long for people to start giving their opinions and ideas as to what movie I was looking for. While the majority of them weren’t even close (giving me film names such as Bewitched or City of Angels) one answer clicked with me. They said the title of the film was Made in Heaven and that it starred Timothy Hutton and Kelly McGillis.

My husband and I looked the film up in IMDB and the synopsis was close enough to what I remembered that we began looking for a copy that we could rent to see if it truly was the film I remembered. The problem was, the film hadn’t been very popular, so most places no longer had a copy of it. Now I was beginning to wonder if I would ever get a chance to view this film again and find out why it had lingered in my mind for so long.

We found a couple of places that had the film available for sale on VHS tape–it had evidently never been popular enough to get transferred to DVD–but I didn’t really want to buy it, because I still wasn’t 100% sure that this was even the right film yet. As I debated as to whether to buy a copy or just give up on figuring out why this film had been bugging me over the years, we made a run to the local library. Just for the heck of it, I decided to check their Video/DVD section while we were there.

Lo and behold there it was in all its VHS glory. With a swipe of the library card, we now had a copy of the film. Now we could find out once and for all if this truly was the film that had been haunting my memory. So, last night, popcorn in hand, we plugged in the movie and sat back to watch.

Right off we could tell that it wasn’t going to be a great movie. The cinematography was poor, the editing made the film choppy, and the acting was mediocre at best. However, I recognized that this was the movie I had had flashes of for 20 years, and I was determined to find out why (despite the film-student-quality of the movie) why it stuck in my head.

20 minutes into the film, I found my answer. Amidst the dross, here was some Truth. Evidently, the script/story writer had actually spent some time on the transitional and astral planes. Although, the movie referred to it as “heaven”, it was definitely the same places I had traveled to, and the same places that most of us refer to as the astral and transitional planes. The movie had guides (in fact, Kelly McGillis was a guide), and the inhabitants of “heaven” spoke of “…thinking about where you want to go, and going there…” (on the transitional plane, if you think about where you want to be, the reality of it is created around you. You don’t actually “travel” anywhere, as much as the reality just comes to exist.). There also had some very good representations of the areas of learning that exist on the astral planes, as well as the areas of ideas, and areas of creativity.

Having spent so much of this lifetime moving between the physical plane and the transitional and astral planes, I had recognized the Truth of these scenes the first time I saw the movie, and so the memory of the movie had continued to plague me until I watched it again. Now, watching it again, I saw the Truth in these scenes and was even more struck by how accurate they were.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a movie if it didn’t go off with ideas and concepts that were strictly physical plane and try to overlay them onto their concept of heaven (concepts such as marriage, sex, child birth, homes, families, jobs, etc.) Those are all concepts that don’t apply once you leave the physical world, but this was a movie, after all, so I let it slide. I figured, that perhaps the main character was creating these situations and things because he missed the physical plane (after all, it is a movie;-)

As I said, it will never be a great movie, but seeing how much Truth was buried inside that film made it worthwhile for me. And it’s not a baaad film, but if you’re watching it for the love story or the acting, I’ve definitely seen better. However, if you’re watching it because you want to know what’s next, then Made in Heaven has some beautiful pearls hidden inside of it for you.

10 thoughts on “Made in Heaven

  1. I remember this movie. While I also found the concept it presented interesting, I thought the acting was a bit schmaltzy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

