The Book of Knowledge

I was sitting on the grass, the sun warming my back while the trees murmured to each other. A gentle breeze caressed my cheek and the droning of bees filled the air. Although, I noted all of this on one level, I didn’t really notice it at all. The book in my lap occupied my complete attention, holding me, captivating me. Fascinated, I clung to every word.

It wasn’t a romance or mystery, not even a thriller or horror story–although, it did have some of all those elements within in it. No, this book was different, completely different from anything I had ever read before. It wasn’t put out through some regular publishing house; it wasn’t an e-book, or paper book. When I say this book was different, I truly meant it.

As I read through it, I felt rightness about the world and universe. It was as if each word only confirmed what I already knew. There was so much truth and wisdom packed into this thin, white volume, that I was amazed. How could this little book contain so much?

I couldn’t stop reading. Each word was a delight. Each sentence was a treat that filled my senses and teased my mind. Each page filled my mind with a million thoughts and ideas. They flooded through me, rolled over me, and barreled on past as I tried desperately to hang on to them. Every unique idea burst through me like a barrage of sky rockets, and I felt as if I were soaring high above the world.

My eyes moved down the page, and my mind continued to buzz and thrum with all the delightful insights that each sentence called forth from my being. Where had this book been hiding. Why hadn’t I found it until now? Everyone needed to read this book, I thought as I pulled my eyes from the page and smiled up at the butterflies soaring above me. 

I thought of all the people who could be helped just by reading any portion of this magnificent writing; of all the wars and other violent situations that could be averted if people would just read from this book. It was dumbfounding that more people hadn’t learned what I had simply from the few moments I had spent reading this book. Every person should have their own copy, I murmured to myself. Just think how wonderful the world would be if we all read from this book and were awakened to the knowledge and understanding of how things worked–a secret that hides within all of us.

Each of us carries the knowledge, the wisdom to do no harm. Yet every day we ignore that wisdom and go out and do as we please, regardless of who or what we hurt. Yet, I knew that if we all read even just a few pages from this book, that the rate of hurtfulness would drop significantly. How could it not? The information was all right here–all anyone had to do was read the first page and they, too, would see the truth, both within themselves and within the book.

I stood, my finger caught in the book, holding my place, and I looked toward the house. I needed to make as many copies of this book as possible, so everyone would have a chance to see what I had seen. As I glided through the grass toward the house, I suddenly awoke. Finding myself in the darkness of my bedroom, I cried out.

I sat up in the bed and searched frantically for the book I had moments before been holding in my hands. But, of course, it wasn’t there. It had just been a dream. There was no actual “book”, there was only the information that each of us carries within ourselves. Not that this makes the information any less valid, but it does make it harder to share. After all, a physical book can be copied, or given away, or read to others. But how does one share the information that is “written” only on their own soul?

Each of us carries within us their own version of this “book”. The “trick” is finding the key to unlock that information ,thereby making it available to yourself (and, if you like, to others). You see, everyone is different. While some people will never look inside and recognize that they have a copy of this “book”, others may see it and never “read” it. 

This book of knowledge is hidden away within the library of your soul, but the librarian is adept at inducing fear, because she doesn’t want you to know the secrets within this book. For some people, she is so fearsome that they will never enter the library, let alone check out the book hidden inside there. Others may sneak into the library and find the book, but then be frightened away by the librarian before they can figure out what the book says. Some others may actually get a glimpse inside that book and know that it holds great wisdom and truth, but still be too afraid of the librarian to stay very long. But a few, like me, will brave the librarian, proving to themselves that she is not as fearsome as she would like you to think; and in doing so, manage to remove the book long enough to read the entire thing–cover to cover. And once read, they will find that life will never be the same, because they have discovered something wondrous–about themselves, about the world, and about everyone they know.

Whichever one of these you may be is fine, because not everyone needs to seek out their book of knowledge, nor does everyone need to read every passage within the book. Everyone is different, and everyone is on different paths, so when the time is right, you will find your book and you will read whatever passage or page you need to in order to continue on with your life. But if you’re lucky (because I consider myself lucky to have read the entire book and to have remembered most of it), you too, will read and remember every morsel of that book, and you, too, will find your life changed because of it.

It’s a fascinating and enlightening read, and I hope each of you gets the chance to at least sample some of the writings in your own book of knowledge some day.

5 thoughts on “The Book of Knowledge

  1. You had my complete attention from word one..I love the way you write.
    I kept waiting for you to name the book because I wanted to read it too,you had me enthralled !

    Amazingly I too have just been discovering my book ! Im still reading……
    Thanks for sharing this. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

