Hey God, are You Out There?

The Eye of God

 

I was watching a program on the Science channel the other night that was discussing the various scientific theories and tests being conducted to not only prove that some sort of god exists, but what type.  

It was fascinating if for no other reason than to listen to the various ideas put forth. Some were simple and seemed quite ordinary, while others were so far fetched, they could only have come from reading something out of a scifi/fantasy book.  

The more simple theories and concepts were concerned primarily with proving things from the purely mathematically and scientific approach (such as trying to write the unifying formula, which would show mathematically how all things are related, or trying to find the Higgs boson (or God particle) in the various accelerator labs). The more fantastical concepts included theories that we are merely players in a giant computer simulation—see my article “Have You Ever Been to the 13th Floor?” or that only one of us is real, and the rest of us merely players in that person’s dream (okay, but which one of us is real? I know I don’t feel like I’m a dream person…but then, how would I know what a dream person feels like?).  

They interviewed a beach bum/theoretical physicist living on some beach in Hawaii. He spends his days hanging 10, while scribbling ideas on a pad of paper. I have no doubt that he’s probably more learned in physics than I’ll ever be, but I do have to admit that his interview left me wondering how much of his calculations were physics and how much were chemically induced theories 😉  

As for the hypothesis that we are all just part of a giant computer simulation, well, that may be, but then they need to stop giving us free will and the ability to make our own choices, because as we start thinking for ourselves, we may just overthrow the computer programmer and gamer and take over their worlds as well as our own. They’re playing a very dangerous game, if they think that’s all we are, because no one has that much control over life – theirs or anyone elses.  

Then you have the physicist who was so taken with his research that he chucked it all and became a priest. Hmmmm…what does that say about science? Could it be that when it comes to that unifying force (God, Tao, The Great Creator) that proof isn’t always in the concept, that sometimes it’s in the heart?  

Then there was the neurologist/psychologist who said that “God is all in our heads.” He had rigged up an experiment that had people in a soundproof, lightproof, sensation-free chamber wearing a helmet with small electro magnets attached to the right side. They would sit in this chamber for 30 – 60 minutes and then he would flip on the magnets. According to him, every time he did that, the people would experience “visitors”. They claimed to sense the presence of one or more others in the room with them. They would describe these people and sometimes even be able to remember conversations they had with them. Most of the people also said that they were looking back at their own bodies.  

While he claims that that proves that we are creating our own gods out of our own brain waves, I say it only proves that his technique was able to induce out of body experiences in at least half of his subjects. Of course, since that wasn’t what he was looking for, and since that isn’t something he is ready to admit is possible, then as far as he is concerned, if we can experience the feelings of being surrounded by one or more other people that aren’t really in the room with us, then we must be able to make ourselves believe in an overarching being that only exists in our own brains.  

If you think I’m writing somewhat sarcastically about this program, I guess I am. But one of the problems that I’ve always had with theoretical science and scientists is their ability to create a hypothesis and subsequent tests that manage to exclude anything that might make them have to think outside their own little box. They, like a great many other people (people of faith, science, politics, and business), have a tendency to see only what they want to see.  

Granted, we all have that ability, but I especially resent it when we are fed these limited viewpoints as “scientific facts”, “historic facts”, and “spiritual facts”. While I thank them all for their input, I still reserve the right to think for myself, and if that entails taking a little bit from each category, well…then that’s my choice, isn’t it?  

So, while I love the fact that there are as many ideas and concepts of what God is or is not as there are birds in the skies, I don’t think we should get caught up in any single one. I find several of them interesting, but I think I’ll withhold judgment until I have a little more insight and wisdom—whether I’m still in the physical plane or somewhere else.

10 thoughts on “Hey God, are You Out There?

  1. How very interesting all the different ideas and concepts of what God might be. Somehow I’ve alwys thought of God as some sort of all encompassing energy that permeates everything, including us.

    Like

  2. Love the surfing scientist and the computer-generated realities. But if we’re all part of someone else’s dreams, then this is an absolute nitemare.

    Like

  3. I think that the fact that the scientists are even looking for explanations is interesting. A decade ago, not a single legitimate scientist, or at least one that wanted to be considered legitimate, would have dared to study such topics. So, I think it shows just how far we have come as a society. We have a lot further to go, but it gives me hope.

    Like

  4. Great post Tas, as always!

    I’ve been wanting to let you know that the subscriber notices I’ve been getting are down to 2 lines of your post. All the rest is tags and categories. Before long, there won’t be any post to read of the new post being sent. You might want to consider selecting tags that are relevant only to the new post; that, or opt to send the entire post in the notification.

    Like

    1. I agree (about the tags), isn’t there some way you could hide them or something. I’ve noticed a bunch of blogs on WP always have these great clouds of tags, which are really annoying.

      Like

Leave a Reply

