The soul’s voice

OnDreamsCover_Smashwords_withtextIf people’s eyes are the windows to their souls, then dreams are the soul’s voice. Dreams can praise, promise, warn, caution, sing, yell, and whisper. Dreams give voice to those hidden secrets deep in our souls, the yearnings, the passions, and desires.

Dreams may seem meaningless, and I know many people tend to ignore their dreams. However, dreams can tell us so much about ourselves and the others around us if we would just listen to them.

Dreams rarely speak in a plain and open manner. Most times they use a language that is obtuse and somewhat opaque, and the messages are oblique and sometimes hard to hear. But once you figure out the language of dreams, you will find that the information they offer can broaden your world exponentially. It’s amazing how much more you will be able to see and understand once you learn to speak “dream”.

I’ve spent decades listening to and deciphering the meaning of my dreams. I’ve become so well-versed in dream-speak, that I rarely even need a dream dictionary to understand what the dreams are telling me.

Here’s an example:

I was standing alone in the transitional plane, wandering once again whether I was on the best path for me, when the mist suddenly changed to a period room. It seemed to be a room from a well-adorned home (probably from the 1700’s). I was in a period gown, sitting on a settee, and a man came in. I couldn’t clearly see his face, but in the dream I knew him and loved him. He offered me a jewelry box and inside was a single pearl on a gold chain next to two pearl-drop earrings. The scene grayed, then returned, and the box now contained a ruby pendant and earrings. It grayed once more, and the box now held an opal pendant and earrings.

I took the box and the scene dissolved and faded away. Now I was in a grassy yard and I was holding a small, brown puppy, and barking and playing around my feet was another older puppy, golden yellow—a Labrador, maybe?—and I was smiling and very happy. The dog brought me a stick, and I tossed it and then two smiling dogs ran off to get it.

Suddenly, I was back inside the house, in the kitchen. There was a huge fireplace with a roaring fire, but I was standing near the kitchen table. I reached toward the fruit bowl for an apple and a half-dozen little spiders crawled out of the bowl and I woke up.

When I woke up I was happy and smiling, not frightened, and I’ll tell you why. Not only had I finally gotten an answer, but the answer was a positive one. But what about the spiders, I hear you asking. Even spiders are a positive “omen” in dreams.

First there was the lover’s gift of jewelry, jewels, gems, opals, rubies, and pearls. If you look up all of those symbols (gift, jewelry, jewels, gems, opals, rubies, and pearls) you find that it means:

Gift: your own innate gifts; your own innate abilities

Jewelry: if not broken, then pleasure and good fortune.

Jewels: to receive them from others, good fortune and good friends.

Gems: happiness in love and business.

Opals: great luck in the next few days.

Pearls: faithful friends and lovers; happiness

Rubies: happiness and good luck in all speculations.

Earrings: encouraging and interesting work.

Necklace: to receive a necklace as a gift means happy times and faithful lover.

Then the part about the puppies playing:

Dogs: intuition, loyalty, generosity, protection, and fidelity.

Puppies: Good, strong friends and friendships.

Green grass: happiness and wealth.

Green fields: abundance and happiness.

Followed by the kitchen scene:

Kitchen: unpleasant gossip surrounds you.

Fire: prosperity and good luck.

Fruit: (eating them) struggles

Apples: prosperity and harmony if the apples are without blemishes or worms.

Spiders: many spiders means fortune, good health, good friends, and favorable conditions are yours.

When put all together, it shows me that through my own innate gifts, my good friends and faithful lover I will enjoy prosperity, happiness, and good luck on the path I have chosen, despite a few bumps and problems.

So, what are your dreams whispering to you?

(For more about dreams and what they might be trying to tell you, read On dreams and dream symbols.)

5 thoughts on “The soul’s voice

  1. The Oak has often figured in my dreams, but not always with the same meaning. In my dreams I have watched many majestic oaks succumb to what I call, “sudden oak death”, and I feel nothing but despair. It’s as if there is no hope.

    Like

    1. Sounds as if you’re afraid of failing or of those you look up to failing somehow. You seem to have an innate fear of those who appear strong not being as strong and sturdy as you think.

      Like

  2. your blog is really excellent. it inspires the readers who have that great desire to lead a better and happier life. thanks for sharing this information and hope to read more from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

