A Visionary Journey

school-books-appleSlidingDoors

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Teacher: one who imparts knowledge or aids in the learning process. Someone who shows you the path to enlightenment through the use of various means and mediums.

Visionary Fiction: one of the mediums through which knowledge, wisdom, or enlightenment is imparted. It embraces spiritual and esoteric wisdom, often from ancient sources, and makes it relevant for our modern life. This wisdom is presented in story form and enables readers to experience the truth of the information and express it within themselves.

yinyang

Although I’ve never had the job title of teacher (or any of its variations), I have been a teacher my entire adult life. I teach philosophy, a world point of view based on my experiences, my insights, and my own understanding of how things work. But just as my topic is slightly unconventional, so are my methods of presentation. I don’t stand in the front of a classroom with a determined audience; instead, I have conversations, go to concerts or movies, write visionary fiction and other types of pieces, and generally just participate in life.

Actually, visionary fiction is a new term for me, but one that fits my writing style like a custom-made garment. I never labeled my musings and blog postings. I simply referred to them as “those paranormal and fantastical ramblings of mine…”, or “the musings of a soul needing to share…” As for my books, well…those got listed as paranormal or fantasy for lack of anything better.

But another blogger and author, Ellis Nelson, happened to peruse my blog site and left her calling card for me. I followed her back to her blog, EllisNelson (which has some interesting posts on it), and the first post I read was “I Write Visionary Fiction – Who Knew?

I used her VFA membership link to get to the Visionary Fiction Alliance (VFA) website. There I learned more about what visionary fiction was and what the VFA was all about. Visionary fiction is an actual book genre, which focuses on the primary characters’ growing awareness and enlightenment by using reincarnation, dreams, visions, and psychic abilities as key parts of the story.

Since this echoes my own life and philosophy, it has been only natural for me to incorporate these elements into my stories. After all, you’re supposed to write about what you know, and what I know the most about is (what most people consider) the paranormal. So now, instead of labeling my books and stories paranormal or fantasy, I can use a label that is closer to the truth—visionary fiction.

For me, visiting Ellis Nelson and the VFA has been an enlightening journey. Make the journey yourself. Click the VFA icon in the right sidebar and find out what the VFA can offer readers and authors.

 

2 thoughts on “A Visionary Journey

  1. It seems I am also a writer of Visionary Fiction, although I am accustomed to using the phrase Mystical realism. Writing fiction has given me a voice. Years of psychic research and study has given me knowledge to impart. The book is an entertainment – if the reader wants to look deeper, the message is there.
    Elenor

    Like

  2. “Writing fiction has given me a voice.”

    For me, it was a combination of the two. Writing gave me the voice, fiction gave me the platform.

    Thank you for stopping by; I hope we can continue to exchange ideas through our writings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

