Author bios…does anyone read them?

bookbackAuthor bios…does anyone ever read them?

It’s an interesting question to me, because I’m back to struggling with whether I should include a bio or not on my upcoming book; and, if I do, what information to include.

When I released my non-fiction books I agonized over what to do, but in the end, I didn’t include a bio on either of them. The Psychopomp book was autobiographical; therefore, I was already openly sharing myself and my life with complete strangers, what more could I offer. As for the Dream Symbol book, well…there was little in my background to indicate why I was qualified to interpret dreams or offer advice on interpreting dreams. (I mean, I’ve been interpreting dreams since I was a kid, but only for myself and any people who ask me—friends, family, acquaintances, co-workers. It’s not like I advertise it as a talent, make money from it, or make note of it on my resume or anything. It’s just something I’ve always done.)

So, now here I am getting ready to publish my first novel and wondering what qualifications do I have that would make anyone want to read my novel versus anyone else’s book? What can I say about myself that might intrigue someone enough to want to check out The Starstone?

I started to think about my own experiences. When I was growing up, I spent hours roaming libraries and book shops looking for books. The first thing I always noted was the title and the book cover. If those caught my attention, the book at least got removed from the shelf for a closer inspection. Then came the story synopsis…if it sounded good, I would read a chapter or two to see if I liked the author’s writing style.

The last thing I would check out was the author’s blurb. What I remember about those was that I wanted to know if the romance was written by a glamorous (or handsome), romantic-type person (Danielle Steele comes to mind, with her gorgeous photos and luxurious-sounding lifestyle); and was the adventure/thriller written by a dashing daredevil (Clive Cussler and his dashing Dirk Pitt were a daring duo).

But other bios that were quirky, humorous, or somehow stood out to me, might just get me to read a book that I was on the fence about. Perhaps the plot summary was just so-so, or the cover rather plain, but if the author bio made me laugh, it would make the book worth a look-see.

So, how about you? Do you read author bios and why?

authorpage

Leave a Reply

