An Interview with This Author

meI was asked to participate in an interview for a local library publication, and thought I’d share it with my readers:

Q: What do you want most from life?

Acceptance. I want to feel as if I belong with a group, in the world, in this place, in this life. The biggest roadblock to that, though, is myself. I’m independent and prone to follow my own drummer, which makes me a puzzle to most people.

Q: What do you notice first about people?

Their face. I tend to look at a person’s eyes to see who they are inside. I truly do believe that the eyes hold the secret to a person’s soul, and you can usually tell by looking at their eyes what their true mood is. People can smile, but the eyes will tell you if it’s genuine.

Q: What do you appreciate the most in your friends?

Understanding. I’m very introverted and so really appreciate my own space. It doesn’t mean that I don’t care about someone; it simply means that sometimes I need to step away from the drama of everyday life, and I need friends who can understand that.

Q: What is your main fault?

I need to know ‘why’ about everything. I never outgrew the terrible two’s when you go around asking everyone why. I still do that. You tell me about an event, and if it isn’t clear to me why something happened, or why someone reacted the way they did, I’m going to ask…and sometimes I keep asking until I’m satisfied with the answer.

Q: What is your favorite occupation.

My favorite occupation is writing. I have always adored the written word. I taught myself to write when I was 3 because I wanted to understand what the magic was about words, and many decades later, I’m still exploring that magical realm of words.

Q: What is your idea of happiness? 

Happiness to me is many things. Some of those things are simple, like a soft breeze on a summer’s day or a bouncing, bundle of playful puppy or kitten. Sometimes I find happiness in watching my spouse come into a room and knowing that he’s safe and well. Other times happiness is knowing that I wrote a powerful passage that will move my readers or the knowledge that something I wrote has changed a reader’s life for the better.

Q: What is your idea of misery?

My idea of misery would be me being unable to communicate in any way—trapped in your body with an intact mind but no way to express your thoughts or ideas. That would be misery.

Q: If not yourself, who would you be?

I can’t imagine me being anyone other than who I am. While there are others I admire, I wouldn’t want to be them.

Q: Where would you like to live? 

I would love to live in the country, away from crowds and traffic. I adore nature and the tranquility it offers.

Q: What is your favorite color?

I adore rainbows because they have a blending of so many colors; however, if I have to pick a favorite, it would be purple.

Q: What is your favorite flower?

My favorite flowers are daisies and asters; primarily because of their ability to endure. I’ve seen them bloom despite drought or freeze, and I admire that.

Q: What is your favorite bird?

I’m not sure that I have a favorite. I find them all fascinating and interesting—even the noisy grackles and the rather ugly turkey vultures.

Q: Who are your favorite authors or most inspiring authors?

There are so many. I love to read, so I would say that my favorite author is the creator of whatever book I’m reading at the time.

When it comes to inspiration, though, Rod Serling and O. Henry were the authors that most inspired me. I adored the way they led you along a specific path with their stories so that you never saw the cliff looming ahead. I’ve always wanted to be able to able to write short stories the way they did…and someday maybe I will.  

Q: Who are your favorite poets?

Dr. Seuss and Ogden Nash. I love their playfulness and childlike innocence.

Q: Who are your favorite painters?

I want to be able to recognize what I’m looking at, so I like art that looks like what it’s supposed to be. That leaves out most impressionists, cubists, and modern artists (such as Van Gogh, Picasso, and Dali).

Q: Who are your favorite composers?

I’m fairly flexible in my musical tastes, but I would say that my favorites range from Beethoven and Mozart, to the Beatles and Billy Joel.

Q: What are your favorite foods and drinks?

Anything chocolate.

Q: What are your favorite names?

That would be like trying to name my favorite star or planet. Every name is beautiful. We only think badly of a name when someone wearing that name acts in a negative way toward us.

Q: What do you dislike about yourself the most?

I dislike my impatience. It keeps me from being able to enjoy every moment of every day. But I’m working at improving myself so that I can be more in the moment, instead of racing ahead to the next one.

Q: What historical figure do you dislike the most?

While I may not care for some parts of our world’s history, and I hope we never repeat those parts, disliking the people involved is like disliking an actor in a play. The past is in the past, and we can’t change it, nor should we. Because if we were to change the people and the incidents, then we wouldn’t be living in our here and now and we wouldn’t be the people we are in this time and place.

Q: What natural talent would you like to be gifted with?

I already was. I have the gift of wordsmithing.

Q: How do you wish to die?

Quickly, quietly, and without fuss.

Q: What is your favorite motto?

Life is a series of choices; make the best of each one.

MFM 3D - DLS - 8pxls - 2

 

 

Leave a Reply

